So, as I said during my first post, I joined Twitter a few days ago.  I won’t lie, I did have a Twitter account before this one, but most of my time was spent reading tweets at restaurants while my boyfriend played Angry Birds.  I didn’t do too much tweeting, but I will say that Greyson Chance was a follower and I did get a reply from Angelina.  You know, the paparazzi-piano cover tween who became famous via Ellen DeGeneres, and Angelina, the self-proclaimed “Kim Kardashian of Staten Island” who left Jersey Shore twice.  Oh ya, I thought I was big time.  But, I decided I needed a fresh start with a new purpose and made a new account where I am determined to be more active.

Yes, in these past 4 days I have been doing my best to tweet, retweet, and reply as often as possible without getting annoying.  And I have been excited to watch my “follower” number continue to rise.  But I decided to check out these followers and see what they were all about, and follow them back out of generosity and curiosity.  I was disappointed.  10 of my 20 followers weren’t people at all.  They weren’t even respected companies, newspapers, or anything.  They were robotic spam!  And on first glance, they seemed like the most normal!  Oh awesome, Joella Mench is following me, and Meryl Hendrick, cool.  Oh, let me check them out.  Wait, http://www.anal-pics.com?  Neighbors-have-sex.info?  Seriously?  No thanks, I don’t need you following me, even if it does boost my self-esteem seeing that number rise.  Report as spam and block, thanks.

Unfortunately, I have to go through and weed out a few every day, but that’s okay for now.  I don’t know if I’ll have time to manage all of that when I’ve got millions of followers, but maybe by then I’ll have an assistant (ha..joke).  On top of the robots following me, I also have people I follow that retweet spam constantly.  It’s my fault for following them—ispeakfemale, girlposts, epictweets—they post things that are at times, entertaining, humorous, or relate-able, but most of the time it’s spam from other spammers.

“@NICKIIMINAJ: I’ll follow the next 300 people who follow and retweet @blahblahblah”  “@Dumbloser: OMG! I can’t believe it!  I just gained 150 followers by following @blahblahblah.  Wow, this is for real!”

No, this is stupid.  No, you are not the real Nicki Minaj…it is not Nickii Minaj, plus no one cares.  And no, you didn’t gain shit but more spam from following @blahblahblah, so really, why are you promoting this?  I just don’t understand the real purpose behind it.  Just like computer viruses and worms and spyware.  Why?  What are you gaining besides making everyone else’s life a pain?  And you don’t even get to see the person go crazy.  You don’t get to witness them freak out when they lose their entire term paper because their computer shuts down.  You don’t get to see them wonder if the fake virus program is real or not.  Shit, what is my virus program called?  Was it Windows 8?  But there are spelling errors in these warning messages…I don’t think I should trust it.  Come on, at least spell-check your spyware.  You spent the time making it, why not put a little bit more effort into it next time.  There’s nothing that disappoints me more than a hacker who does a half-ass job.

Well, it’s time to go scrape through the Twitter followers for the day.  It looks like Pearlie Russotto is a new one.  She says that, “Twitter is like sex without foreplay.  And, like most women, Im big on foreplay. Providing everything else is big too!”  Really?  Twitter is like sex without foreplay?  I know someone can do better than that.

